b1rd {man} onthemoon


Thoughts: Life after College
September 30, 2009, 10:37 pm
Filed under: Thoughts

Last night I began thinking more about Life after College. I went to an academic program on campus with some friends and my boy Justin said that during the program, he just thought to himself “Is this what life is? We read things, learn things, write papers. What if I just dropped out of college and became like a musician?”

Justin’s realization got us all thinking, and I began to realize that in a little over two years my life will really begin. I’ll have to interview for a teaching job; hopefully I’ll get one and then I’ll be in charge of teaching other people’s kids. It’s crazy when you think about it. I’m still a kid at this point in my mind, yet in a few years I’ll be an adult standing in front of a classroom full of teenagers. How have I reached this point? It’s just so weird to realize that I’m almost an adult when I still feel like my adolescence just began.

And Justin brought up an interesting point. What does all of this really mean? What does “College” mean? When I graduate I’ll get a piece of paper saying I did all the necessary work. But will that be enough for me to succeed as a teacher? And will all the money spent and debt in loans be worth it? I have no idea. But I’m not scared of that. I’m pretty sure right now that I’ll love teaching and be able to help at least a few kids better themselves. But then again who knows what will happen? I might end up doing something completely different; or I might find that that one thing I love is teaching others. Either way I’m confident that I’ll know the right move when the time comes.

“And I heard ’em say, nothin ever promised tomorrow today.

But we’ll find a way”   — Kanye



Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

